Why out should never judge a book…

Wanna know why you should never judge a book by its cover?

Because you could end up missing out on knowing some really cool people. Simply by judging them.

We, you included, judge everyone within the first 7 seconds of meeting them. Did you know that?

So that also means that we only have 7 seconds to make an impression. Not long, is it?

It used to be 20 seconds, but with technology and our lives becoming busier and busier, it’s now just 7 measly seconds.

So that means, we see, scan and make a snap decision based on pretty much nothing at all.

Exhibit 1:

When I was training to be a financial adviser with Nationwide about 10 years ago, we had to go on a series of courses with the same group over the space of about 12 weeks.

The first time we met each other, we had to sit in a circle waiting for the course to start and I glanced around the circle and you could see the others doing that too.

I spotted Kim. She had long brown, wavy hair, minimal make up, quite smiley and she’d cut the hem of her jeans. Which she always had to do because she was, and still is, pretty short! I immediately knew I’d be friends with her and we’re still friends now, 10 years later.

I also spotted Louise. Jet-black, shoulder-length, pin-straight hair, jet black heavy eye-brows, severe make-up, long black tallons, and a sort of pursed/pissed off mouth and look on her face. I was immediately intimidated and just knew we’d never get on at all. What was someone like that doing there?

Louise turned out to be one of the nicest, friendliest, funniest people I’d ever met. She was/is a cheer leader in Scotland (cheer-leading is big up there. Who knew!)

You see, it was all just a mask. She was actually quite insecure. And once you got to know her, she was really awesome.

And I would never have got to know her if we’d only been there for that day. But over the course of the next weeks, she became one of my closest friends. Sadly we’ve lost touch now but I hope she’s doing awesome. I expect she is.

Exhibit 2:

Last week I went on a course with Gymbox where we had to learn a whole load of new skills, etc. (It’s part of the deal when you move your business in there.) On the second day, we all had to have our photos taken for the Gymbox website.

Most of the other trainers stepped in front of the photographer, struck a pose and were out in moments. Me, I picked up a kettlebell because I didn’t know what to do with my arms. the photographer was very patient, kept making suggestions on how to stand, how to hold myself, where to look, etc.

It took a little longer than the others, which I guess means that it took the guy a while to get a shot that would look vaguely ok.

The photo appeared on the website the next day. Wow! Do I look severe or what?! The photo is not me at all.

In reality, I’m a bit silly, quite immature, I say inappropriate things, I’m clumsy, I trip most days, I try to have fun whenever I can, and I try to make my clients sessions as fun as possible too etc etc.

But none of that comes across in the photo. I just look severe.

So the moral of the story is, don’t judge a book by its cover! If you see my photo – please don’t be put off and think I’m some super-fit, super-serious protein-junkie. I’m not!

In other news, I need to remind you that the FREE taster sessions and consultations are coming to an end on 31st December. AND…

My prices go up on 1st January. But if you sign up before, you will pay the 2016 prices even if you only actually start your programme in Janaury.

So if you want to take advantage of the last of my FREE taster sessions and consultations, reply now, say “hell yeah” and I’ll get you booked in ASAP! From 1st January, these sessions will be £20, which is still awesome value, but you may as well get it free, right?

Stay awesome!

Sam X

 

Leave a Reply

